Becton is an unincorporated community in northeast Lubbock County, about 18 mi (29 km) northeast of Lubbock, Texas. This small rural community lies on the high plains of the Llano Estacado in West Texas. Becton began as a ranching community and was originally named Bledsoe for W. E. Bledsoe of the Three Circle Ranch. Later, while applying for a post office in 1917, it was discovered that another Texas town was already named Bledsoe, so the name was changed to Becton, after Abner M. Becton, an early settler who donated land for a new school building. Today, Becton is primarily a farming community and is surrounded by numerous sections of plowed land. The primary crop is cotton but lesser amounts of grain sorghum and winter wheat are also grown in the area. Crops are grown on a mixture of irrigated and dry-land farms. Water for irrigation is pumped from the underlying Ogallala Aquifer and is applied using center pivot irrigation systems. The aquifer is quickly becoming depleted and, sometime in the future, all farms may have to revert to dry-land cropping systems. With regard to transportation, Becton is located around 1 mi (1.6 km) to the east of Farm to Market Road 400. The Fort Worth and Denver South Plains Railway, which extended from Estelline to Lubbock, used to pass through town but the BNSF Railway, which last owned and operated the railway, abandoned and removed the tracks in 1989. In the early days, mail reached Becton by way of Lorenzo Star Route until the Fort Worth and Denver South Plains Railway began operation in 1928. The post office was shut down in the 1940s. The first school was a wooden, one-room building constructed by W. E. Bledsoe. The school also served as a church. It was moved to a new location in 1910 but later burned and was replaced by a new brick building in 1924. The Bledsoe Independent School District was one of the oldest in Lubbock County and at one time it was incorporated with the Estacado school district. In the summer of 1936, Bledsoe School consolidated and was absorbed by the Idalou school district. In 1936, Becton had three businesses, two schools, a church, and a population of twenty-five. In 1946, there were still three businesses, and the population had increased slightly to 150. In 1974, Becton had no businesses and the population decreased to 125. In 1978 the community had three churches and a factory and in 1990 and 200, it had no businesses and 125 residents.
Mighway, by TH2, allows you to rent your vehicle to discerning travellers when you’re not on the road, earning money and sharing the experience. At Mighway, you choose your level of service and we take good care of the rest. That means comprehensive insurance coverage, customer vetting, security deposits, payment processing and round the clock customer support for renters. It’s a bit like renting out a vacation home, with Mighway beside you all the way.LEARN MORE
The San Antonio River Walk is a public park, open 365 days a year. It is a network of walkways along the banks of the San Antonio River, one story beneath approximately 15 miles of downtown San Antonio. Lined by bars, shops and restaurants, the River Walk is an important part of the city's urban fabric and a tourist attraction in its own right. The River Walk winds and loops under bridges as two parallel sidewalks, lined with restaurants, shops, hotels and more. It connects the major tourist draws from the Alamo to Rivercenter Mall, Arneson River Theatre and La Villita, the San Antonio Museum of Art, and the Pearl Brewery.Over 20 events take place on the River Walk every year.
Originally named Mission San Antonio de Valero, the Alamo served as home to missionaries and their Indian converts for nearly seventy years. Construction began on the present site in 1724. In 1793, Spanish officials secularized San Antonio's five missions and distributed their lands to remaining Indian residents. These men and women continued to farm the fields, once the mission's but now their own, and participated in the growing community of San Antonio. More than 2.5 million people a year visit the 4.2 acre complex known worldwide as "The Alamo." Most come to see the old mission where a small band of Texans held out for thirteen days against the Centralist army of General Antonio López de Santa Anna. Although the Alamo fell in the early morning hours of March 6, 1836, the death of the Alamo Defenders has come to symbolize courage and sacrifice for the cause of Liberty.
Space Center Houston is a place where people can experience space — from its dramatic history and exciting present to its compelling future. Space Center Houston is the only place on Earth that gives guests an out-of-this-world journey through human adventures into space.Space Center Houston’s unparalleled exhibits, attractions, special presentations and hands-on activities tell the story of NASA’s manned space flight program. SCH is the only place in the world where visitors can see astronauts train for missions, touch a real moon rock, land a shuttle, and take a behind-the-scenes tour of NASA.At Space Center Houston, guests can understand the past, experience the present, and be a part of the future of the space Program.
The Dallas Arboretum, one of the most beautiful outdoor attractions in the world, features 66-acres of spectacular display gardens that showcase incredible seasonal flowers, ornamental shrubs, trees and plant collections in a serene setting on White Rock Lake. The Arboretum is home to seasonal outdoor festivals, concerts, art shows and more. Throughout the year, guests enjoy both indoor and outdoor dining in either Restaurant DeGolyer in our historic DeGolyer House or on the Lula Mae Slaughter Dining Terrace overlooking downtown Dallas. The Dallas Arboretum honors discounts listed on our website. Incorrect pricing and promotions by other entities will not be accepted.
Palo Duro Canyon State Park opened on July 4, 1934 and contains 29,182 acres of the scenic, northern most portion of the Palo Duro Canyon. The Civilian Conservation Corps of the 1930's constructed most of the buildings and roads still in use by park staff and visitors.The Canyon is 120 miles long, as much as 20 miles wide, and has a maximum depth of more than 800 feet. Its elevation at the rim is 3,500 feet above sea level. It is often claimed that Palo Duro Canyon is the second largest canyon in the United States. The largest, the Grand Canyon, is 277 miles long, 18 miles wide, and 6,000 ft. deep.Palo Duro Canyon was formed by water erosion from the Prairie Dog Town Fork of the Red River. The water deepens the canyon by moving sediment downstream. Wind and water erosion gradually widen the canyon. Early Spanish Explorers are believed to have discovered the area and dubbed the canyon "Palo Duro" which is Spanish for "hard wood" in reference to the abundant mesquite and juniper trees.Visit Palo Duro Canyon State Park
Enchanted Rock State Natural Area consists of 1,643.5 acres on Big Sandy Creek, north of Fredericksburg, on the border between Gillespie and Llano counties. It was acquired by warranty deed in 1978 by the Nature Conservancy of Texas, Inc., from the Moss family. The state acquired it in 1984, added facilities, and re-opened the park in March 1984, but humans have visited here for over 11,000 years. Enchanted Rock was designated a National Natural Landmark in 1970 and was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984. The Rock is a huge, pink granite exfoliation dome, that rises 425 feet above ground, 1,825 feet above sea level, and covers 640 acres. It is one of the largest batholiths (underground rock formation uncovered by erosion) in the United States. Tonkawa Indians believed ghost fires flickered at the top, and they heard weird creaking and groaning, which geologists now say resulted from the rock's heating by day and contracting in the cool night. A conquistador captured by the Tonkawa described how he escaped by losing himself in the rock area, giving rise to an Indian legend of a "pale man swallowed by a rock and reborn as one of their own." The Indians believed he wove enchantments on the area, but he explained that the rock wove the spells. "When I was swallowed by the rock, I joined the many spirits who enchant this place." The first well-documented explorations of this area did not begin until 1723, when the Spanish intensified their efforts to colonize Texas. During the mid-1700s, the Spaniards made several trips to the north and northwest of San Antonio, establishing a mission and presidio on the San Saba River and carrying out limited mining on Honey Creek near the Llano River.Visit Enchanted Rock State Natural Area
Parent of brands like Airstream®, Thor Industries owns companies that together represent the world’s largest RV manufacturer.
From 1980, when they built their first Camper Van, to today, Road Bear has been on an unquestioning quest to 'be the best for the customer'.
Roadtrippers helps people discover the world around them in an entirely new way by streamlining travel into an engaging and intuitive process.
TH2 is a joint venture created by travel giants: Thor Industries, the world’s largest RV manufacturer, and thl, the world’s largest RV rental and sales operator.